Testimonials

Please enjoy some of the personal comments our guests have given about their stay at the Blue Heron Inn.

Please give us your reviews on Trip Advisor, Bed and Breakfast.com or Bookings.com so we can post your comments.

“The Blue Heron Inn was one of the most beautiful B&Bs I have been to and one of the most comfortable. I checked in after an extremely busy day doing site visits for work and I was sweaty and tired. David and Julie met me at the front door took my bags, gave me water, offered me a cookie and showed me around the property. They then escorted me to my Suite on the third floor.
My room was HUGE and was beautiful. It had a jacuzzi tub that fit two but was great for just one. After showering I put on THE MOST comfortable robe they have for guests and feel into the bed where I was hugged by the soft down pillow and the most comfortable bed. Making sure I made it to happy hour they usually host by the pool I was sure to set an alarm.
The pool was warm and had a great water feature. After going out for a late dinner I went back to the Inn and got in the pool for a late night swim. I laid their floating in the quiet staring at the stars which I do not get to see in NYC.
Breakfast in the morning was OUTRAGEOUSLY delicious. I don’t know why I had my doubts but I was pleasantly surprise by the beauty and the taste of the spread. Pecan glazed bacon… need I say more? Served with a beautiful light veggie frittatta and a home made cranberry muffin with the most delicious glaze and crumble on top. Literally the price is worth the breakfast.
Next time I plan on having David pick me up in his car from the airport!” September 2014

“Perfectly situated close to downtown Amelia Island. The Blue Heron Inn exceeded my expectations. Julie and David were absolutely delightful and made us feel at home. Our room was cozy and comfortable. I found the bed especially comfortable and woke up refreshed and well rested. The room was also very private and quiet.The gourmet breakfasts were the perfect start to our day exploring Amelia Island and Fernandina Beach. They provided everything we would need including beach towels, bikes and beach chairs. We enjoyed a short bike ride to Fort Clinch and the beaches.
The backyard garden and pool provided a great private outdoor area.Downtown we enjoyed great dining, live music and incredible sunsets. We will definitely be returning to the Blue Heron.” September 2014.

“We have stayed at many B and Bs but rarely have experienced the combination of hospitality, decor, ambiance, gourmet breakfasts, comfort, history and all the amentities that show caring and respect for the guests.  As a customer service consultant my professional opinion is you two are great!! You are exceptional!  You exude service!  We enjoyed the stories, guidance and feeling like welcome guests.  When we moved to Florida from the Northeast we lived in a condo with a large pond outside our lanai.  The first bird we saw was a Blue Heron.  Staying at your inn has been a special memory and occasion to celebrate my wife’s birthday.  Thank you for creating new memories.” September 2014

“Words cannot truly express how wonderful our stay was at the Blue Heron.  The conversations with Julie and David during the wine and cheese time was both enjoyable and informative.  The presentations at breakfast were beyond our expectations, our compliments to the chef!  The room and bed met our “aged” expectations.  Our stay met all of my wife’s birthday needs in celebrating her 80th!  Thanks again so much for a much enjoyable stay!” August 2014.

“We’ve never stayed in a Bed & Breakfast before and our first experience at the Blue Heron was absolutely fabulous! During my long summer of traveling, this was the first time I felt like I was home!! Incredible restaurants within walking distance: which Julie and David can recommend and reserve for you. We rode bikes to the beach, jogged around the marina, relaxed on the front porch swing, relaxed in the huge jacuzzi tub, heard an awesome saxophone player at David’s next door and were able to unwind and reconnect after a very busy summer! The Sandpiper suite was cozy, clean and comfortable with a plush bed and robes. We always came back to a clean suite with fresh towels, Linens, water, cookies, sodas, wine, etc. I can’t say enough about how wonderful our long weekend was!! “August 2014

“Wow!” This is everything our friends told us about and so much more!  Thanks you so much for your kindness, generosity and hospitality.  It’s the first place I’ve been all summer which made me feel so at home.  This was a much needed retreat we were seeking at the end of a challenging year and summer.  Thank you!” August 2014

“What a beautiful inn and a fabulous get-a-way!  The pool was a delightful way to beat the afternoon heat.  The breakfasts were beautifully presented and absolutely delicious.  Julie and David you have created a peaceful haven here in Fernandina!  We will definitely be back!” August 2014

“Your hospitality exceeds all others!  The breakfasts each morning were exceptional!  How relaxing for us to spend time in the pool and enjoy appetizers.  We felt the stress being relieved.  Could not think of a better way to spend our 2nd anniversary!” August 2014

“Julie and David this is our first time to stay in a B&B and you’ve set the bar very high!  The Blue Heron Inn is elegant yet warm and inviting!  I’ve felt so comfortable and pampered here – it’s very hard to go home!  You make your guests feel like they are special, yet family at the same time.  Thank you for this special and restful vacation spot that was so needed and enjoyed.  We’ll be back!” August 2014

“Blue Heron Inn is the perfect place to escape and simply relax. The lovely pool and garden, the easy walking distance to the Fernandina Beach historic district and shopping/dining, the deliciously delectable breakfasts each morning, and the oh, so comfortable rooms make this the perfect place to get away. Julie is a wonderful host, and Blue Heron Inn is the kind of place to return to over and over again.” July 2014

“My wife and I have just completed a 3 night stay at the Blue Heron. Where to start! The Inn is conveniently located 5 minutes walk from Centre St with it’s various restaurants and shops. David and Julie are wonderful hosts and should be very proud of the atmosphere they have created. Breakfast is beautifully prepared and served on the porch by David and Julie for all guests with fresh, local produce providing flavours from “the south”. This creates a relaxing ambience to chat with other guests. This friendly and caring atmosphere is extended during “happy adult hour” where guests are joined by David and Julie to share a glass of wine, beer and snacks over a chat about…well, anything really; it’s real quality, relaxing time. Our hosts will recommend restaurants and phone to make reservations on your behalf. David even collected us from the restaurant on one occasion when we were caught in a thunderstorm! Nothing is too much for them. This has been a unique and unforgettable holiday experience for us, our first experience to the Florida East Coast – as close to perfection as you can get. Will we return? Of course!” June 2014

If you like ambiance, comfort, peaceful relaxation, elegance, pampering, excellent food, fellowship, adventure and exercise, this is the place for you! It really has it all. David and Julie are very special and they bend over backwards to please. They treat you like family. All the previous reviews are spot on! Full, gormet breakfasts every morning and gormet restaurants galore within walking distance. The scoop of orange sherbet in the orange juice and the marinated shrimp cocktail for happy hour were just one of many special treats. The pool and surrounding gardens offer a place of peacful respite. We love the house and location – so much interesting history right near a wide, flat, gorgeous beach. Do not miss the Amelia Museum of History, a horse and buggy ride and trolley tour to view and hear about the many beautiful historic homes in the area, the boat tour to Cumberland Island where wild horses roam, a stroll down historic downtown area to shop, get a massage and pedicure at elegant Magna’s salon, then top it off with the best fudge and ice cream at Fantastic Fudge. We stopped in nearby St. Mary’s to visit a submarine musueum where we viewed an engaging and informative movie and looked through a real periscope. I highly recommend this B&B for a romantic getaway.Me and my wife had an amazing two days at the Blue Heron Inn. From the moment you arrive you are overcome by a sense of calmness and tranquility. The smell of freshly baked cookies hangs in the air and the bright airy rooms make you feel comfortable and at ease. Julie and David are delightful hosts and exude hospitality in all that they do. Julie is an artist in the kitchen, creating beautiful, delicious breakfasts with an emphasis on locally sourced ingredients and David is quick to keep your coffee cup (or cocktail glass) full. He can offer you advice on all there is to experience on Amelia Island from a local’s perspective and he’ll even help you with dinner reservations. The Inn’s location is is ideal and is within walking distance of the historic downtown shopping area and marina. This was considerably convenient as it allowed us to take advantage of all there is to do literally within a few blocks from the Inn. I can’t say enough good things about The Blue Heron and it’s gracious hosts, only that we’ll be back again but next time for a longer stay.“Everything One of the best and most hospitable B&Bs we have stayed in. Many, many personal touches by the owner, Julie, made it so.” April 2014

“Very delightful stay. Julie and David are wonderful hosts, breakfasts and wine with hors d’oeuvres were very good. Pool and garden were very pleasant place to just read and relax.” April 2014

“Beautiful Inn, Very well located to town, Extraordinary Hospitality, Delightful Happy Hour, and Wonderful Breakfast. Couldn’t ask for more. Oh! Cookies on a table in the entry hall and coffee available at all hours.” March 2014

“Arrived late afternoon and was treated to wine and cheese in the parlor while waiting for my partner to arrive after work. Calm atmosphere, clean, neat room. Had the place to ourselves for the night (good for us, not for the innkeepers). Excellent breakfast in the morning. Location was excellent, owners were present and amiable, but not overbearing. Able to leave our vehicles parked for the day while we explored town. Restaurant Week was going on while we were there, so we took advantage with recommendations from our hosts.” February 2014

“First time to Amelia Island area. David and Julie were excellent hosts, enjoyed their company as well as their hospitality. The Blue Heron Inn is beautiful and has been remodeled to make you feel right at home and feel welcomed. The food was excellent and accomodations were perfect. We had the penthouse room and it was very spacious and beautifully decorated. Look forward to going there again.” February 2014

“I can’t say enough positive things about the Blue Heron Inn! The bed was so comfortable. The room was so clean that the floor squeaked when we walked on it. There were bikes available to explore Fernandina. The food was fantastic. I will definitely come back!” February 2014

“Wonderful hosts and a lovely old house right in the historic district of the town. The breakfasts were outstanding! We were able to borrow bikes to explore the area but it is an easy walk to shops and restaurants.” January 2014

“Perfect accommodations but the warm welcome and gracious attentiveness of David and Julie was even more outstanding. Beautifully decorated house, delicious food and close enough to walk to the quaint downtown area of Fernandina. We highly recommend this beautiful inn to everyone. December 2013

“My birthday weekend was absolutely perfect…and I am so grateful to you both for your welcoming hearts and beautiful inn. You are truly precious humans. I wish you every blessing this Christmas…and look forward to seeing you sometime in the New Year!
Kelly” December ’2013

“I stoped at the Blue Heron for a night during a business trip to get away from the usual hotels and chain food along the interestate. I had no idea that I was going to stay at a wonderful historic inn, located right in the middle of a quaint and fun filed downtown . . . . and the best part was sitting and talking with our host Julie. I cannot wait to come again!” October ’13

“Julie and David Jones are amazing hosts. They went out of their way to accommodate our gluten-free and meat-free needs. Breakfasts were amazing and there is a 5.00 happy hour each night with wine and homemade snacks.” October ’13

“Julie and Dave designed and run this lovely B&B with much passion for Fernandina Beach in general and their guests in particular. There is a perfect place to sit in or around the house for every mood you are in – e.g. the sunny veranda observing the quite streets, the garden/pool area for leisure, the breakfast room for food, the lounge for reading, the rooms for privacy. All nicely decorated, but not in a museum-like way where one fears to touch and use something. We were offered welcome drinks while enjoying a tour through the house, bikes for a trip around the area and many more complimentary services. Make sure you try the yummy homemade cookies and take your time to enjoy the breakfast!” October ’13

“The honeymoon suite was a getaway supreme. Close to great restaurants, and the bicycles took us to the beach for a fun afternoon. Gourmet food, lots of perks, and gracious hosts make this a must do getaway. And don’t forget your swimsuit. Fun night time swimming with a lit-up pool, in a gorgeous garden setting – really nice!” September ’13

“Our inn keepers, Julie and David, were excellent hosts, and now our new friends. Within minutes of our stay we felt like part of the family at the Blue Heron. Julie’s breakfasts and evening appetizer fare were a culinary delight. Both she and David were so accommodating; from helping us chose excellent area restaurants, to setting us up with bikes to tour the historical area. The Inn is in excellent condition and the decor is outstanding, reflecting the historical downtown area, and the victorian heritage of the house. An additional unexpected delight was the refreshing pool, comfortable lounge chairs, and well manicured gardens located in a private setting behind the inn. If you desire a relaxing getaway with all the comforts of home, wonderful hosts and great food, this is the place for you.” September ’13

“My wife and I stayed at the Blue Heron to enjoy our anniversary and roam around Amelia Island. David and Julie were both very inviting and accommodating for us. We truly had the chance to enjoy their hospitality. The house is beautifully appointed just off 8th street. 8th is something of a main drag in the little town but you really wouldn’t know it enjoying a quiet drink on the porch facing Ash Ave. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, perfectly cooked and sensitive to my wife’s dietary needs (no tomatoes, gluten free). The room we stayed in was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. If you’re thinking of spending time at Amelia Island in the near future, picking the Blue Heron is a sure fire bet.” September ’13

“Friendly service. Beautiful accommodations. Great breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms. Loved the bed, slept great! Innkeepers were very helpful.” August ’13

“Our stay at Blue Heron Inn was spectacular. The rooms are beautiful and comfy. Breakfast was a gourmet meal served on fine china with flowers and music. Free bikes were available which we used to tour the historic district and beach chairs and towels for relaxing at the beach.” August ’13

“We stayed here for our one year anniversary, and we could not have been more pleased! Upon arrival we were greeted by the charming innkeeper and led to tour the inn’s amenities and our room. We enjoyed a relaxing, romantic happy hour, then walked the short distance to downtown where we enjoyed dinner. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the house was so clean and cozy, it was like they knew exactly what we needed to feel relaxed and refreshed. Upon learning that it was our anniversary, the innkeepers left a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room. That truly made our occasion special. The breakfast was phenomenal, and it made us feel even more at home! We will definitely be staying there in years to come, and recommending it to everyone we know!!” August ’13

“Located within walking distance of Historic City Center. Room was comfortable, food terrific and inn keepers very charming…had a great visit. Will recommend to all my friends.” July ’13

“This is where my husband and I spent our honeymoon, and it could not have been more perfect. After reading all of the amazing reviews I thought no place could be that good but it was truly a wonderful experience. The food is so good I just want to have all of my meals there forever. I wish Julie had a cookbook because I would snatch it up in a heartbeat! The house itself is gorgeous, located in the beautiful historic district of my hometown, where there are other B&Bs, yet having been on local tours inside of those places I can say that the style and decor of Blue Heron is refreshing. David and Julie have exquisite taste! It wasn’t overdone, overwhelming, choking on theme or trying too hard. It was simply beautiful, warm, comforting. You really feel like you’re at home, yet you feel pampered, spoiled, and relaxed. We stayed in the Compass Room and loved it. We plan on returning at least once a year for our anniversary but hopefully we’ll be able to more often! David and Julie made us feel like everything they had done was for us. Book now, enjoy the food, the company, and the atmosphere, and definitely have breakfast on the front porch!” July ’13

“A perfect place to just get away from it all, great host and lovely Inn!” July ’13

“After a five & half hour drive we were greeted by a warm smile from Julie as we were getting out of the car. She asked about the drive & offered us cold drinks. She gave us a tour of their restored home which was built in the early 1900′s. After settling in the Compass Rose room, one of six rooms, we were offered wine & hos-d’oeuvres by the pool, which are offered daily in the afternoons. Julie & her husband David gave us any & all information about restaurants, sightseeing, some history of the island. They offered us complimentary bikes, beach chairs & towels for the beach & pool. They will make reservations for you from restaurants to sightseeing tours, like a horse drawn carriage tour right from the inn. We found them to be perfect hosts, very warm, very caring & very sociable, very attentive but never intrusive. Breakfasts were incredible & the best we have ever had on vacation. The pecan bacon WOW. The inn is immaculate, our bed was very comfortable, good sized bathroom, jetted tub & rain shower. Plenty of hot water and heavy towels. Cold water, soda, coffee, tea, munches available all day on each floor. As others have stated, the inn is centrally located in the historic district, an easy walk to Centre Street & the water front marina area. Fort Clinch & the beach is about 1.5 miles from the inn. The best grouper dinner was at Le Clos, go when they open at 5:30, no wait, no need for reservations. Other highly recommended restaurants close to the inn, LuLu’s for their shrimp dinner, and Espana. for their Paella & tapas. Julie & David, thank you for all your hard work in making our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely be back again and again.” June ’13

“My friend & I have stayed in many bed & breakfasts over the years, but we have never felt so welcomed. David & Julie were awesome, the food was superb & the room was well appointed. We’ll be back.” May ’13

“The Blue Heron Inn was a wonderful weekend getaway. Julie and David were friendly, helpful and totally attentive to all their guests. From the fresh made cookies to coffee and tea (and hot chocolate) available anytime during the day, to the exceptional breakfast on the porch, the stay was truly enjoyable and memorable. And the Inn is located in the Historic District and ideally located within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants on Centre Street. We also loved the fact that the Inn was surrounded by beautiful historic homes – one of the reasons we went to Amellia Island. We’ll definitely be back.” April ’13

“We stayed in the Sandpiper room. It was a lovely room, very comfortable. The owners were wonderful and very helpful in suggesting restaurants and shopping. The house is within walking distance to the historical “Centre Street.” We never had to use our car during our stay. It was great!” April ’13